top of page
Featured Posts

The origins of the Biblical Archangel Michael

The origins of the Biblical Archangel Michael by Magus A.D.Grant



"The Archangel Michael predates judeo-christianity, and is so ancient that you can trace his name back to around at least 1600 BCE, over a thousand years before he is ever mentioned in Judaism.


Many years ago, I did various workings with the Archangel Michael from GD workings and then later from a adversarial / LHP perspective, in my GD workings I didn't get very good results and found Michael to be cold and reserved (A bit of a c@nt actually). I did a number of rituals with Michael in a later period that wasn't nice for Michael and based in a more Goetic style, this was binding the Archangel to a vessel (I won't go into this here).


But years later I approached and started working with both aspects of Reshef and Nergal from a LHP perspective that led me back to Michael and his connection to those two deities. This opened my eyes to always look deeper into any archetype I wished to work with and from that it started me pulling apart many aspects of the Abrahamic formulated occult systems and finding many demonised Pagan Gods and entities that have been infused or been stolen from other Pantheons and paradigms.


Archangel Michael appears to have found his way into Hebrew via the Babylonian Exile in the fifth century BCE, and through neighboring West Semitic cultures where he was a prominent chthonic martial deity called Mikal.


Mikal was an epithet of Reshef, as an archaic deity of Cyprus. On the mainland Reshef in turn may have been an epithet of Nergal, who is often invoked in Mesopotamian magic in similar roles to that discussed above.


Always research all aspects of that you wish to work with.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page